An antique miniature silver carriage clock with leather travel case by William Comyns, London1898. The clock has a white enamelled dial with black roman numerals and minute ring. The rectangular silver case has a shaped silver handle and is raised on four bun feet. Hinged hallmarked rear door. French timepiece movement with original lever platform escapement. The backplate holds an integral, folding winding handle and a knurled thumbscrew for adjusting the hands. Hallmarked for London Assay Office 1898 and for silversmith William Comyns. Hallmarked in three places. Original leather travel case with front aperture. Signed by owner "Captain Rambaut" inside case lid. (Served in the Royal Field Artillery during WW1.) The clock measures 8 cm without handle (11 cm to top of handle) and 5 cm width x 4.5 cm depth. Excellent time keeper. A little gem!
Fully cleaned. The clock's movement is covered by a 12-month warranty in the UK.
This important firm of silversmiths was established c.1858 by William Comyns when he purchased a business from Robert Tagg (initially founded c1730). Tagg, who had succeeded John Tapley as a silversmithing outworker, vacated premises at 40 Roupell Street, Waterloo Road – himself moving to 2 Carlise Street, Soho Square, where by 1859 he listed as a silversmith. William Comyns subsequently registered his first mark from Roupell Street in 1859. He moved to 1 Percy Mews, Rathbone Place, 16 Silver Street, Soho, and finally to Beak Street, Regent Street where the business later expanded to 41, 43, 45 and 47 Beak Street. The firm made a significant impact in the early 1880s by supplying increasingly large numbers of decorative wares in silver. Additional premised were taken from c.1903 at 54 Marshall Street, Soho. William’s sons (Charles Harling and Richard Harling) became partners c.1885 from when the firm traded as William Comyns & Sons. William died in 1916 followed by his son Charles Harling who died in 1925. The business was incorporated as limited liability company as William Comyn's & Sons Ltd., registered on 20th October 1930, with R.H. Comyns as permanent governing director. After Richard’s death in 1953, William Comyns & Sons Ltd was purchased by Bernard Copping. They are now one of the few surviving manufacturing silversmiths in London, with premises at Comyns House, Tower Street, London, WC2.
Miniature Silver Carriage Clock with Travel Case, William Comyns 1898
This clock and its travel case are in overall stunning condition commensurate with age. The dial is in perfect condition. Please see images as these form an important part of the description.