Classic Vintage Asta Stromberg Art Glass design for Strombergshyttan produced c1955. Clean timeless lines. Ice-blue silver colour typical of Stromberg glass. Wheel cut design of a stag on the front panel. Signed Stromberg B852. 22cm height (11 x 7.5cm at rim).
Strombergshyttan was founded in 1876 as the Lindfors glassworks until 1933 when Edward Stromberg left Orrefors and leased the company. Together with his son Eric, they developed their characteristic glass with an ice-blue/silver hue. His son Eric bought the company in 1945, investing heavily to modernise the company. The company remained in the Stromberg family until 1976, when it was sold to Orrefors following a severe fire in 1973 which had left the glassworks in financial problems. Orrefors closed the Strombergshyttan glassworks in 1979.